Education, Hatha Yoga Practice, Living from the Heart, Mindfulness, Traveling

The Poetry of Retreat

Wake up well before dawn. Set an alarm, just in case. I don't want to miss a moment of the five a.m. sadhana. Under the veil of darkness, stroll along the starlit, lapping lake to the candlelit temple where White Tara beams down upon us all every day and night. Location: Sumaya, which means "a… Continue reading The Poetry of Retreat

chakras, Connecting, Living from the Heart, New Paradigm in Practice

What Color is Your Aura?

Even if we cannot see it, our aura is always with us, surrounding us. It consists of the sum of its parts. Here are some ways in which we can connect with each of our seven main chakra energy centers: The Root Chakra To connect with our root chakra, we can stand up directly on the earth, and feel the ground… Continue reading What Color is Your Aura?

chakras, Mindfulness

Kundalini: the yoga of awareness

by guest blogger Allison Brooks Yoga has a long history of improving physical and spiritual well-being, and also has a wide range of ways to achieve a desired effect. Artifacts depicting yoga postures date back to 3000 BCE, but the origins of Kundalini yoga only date to about 1400 BCE. Most of the evidence for… Continue reading Kundalini: the yoga of awareness


Kundalini Rising Chakra Visualization

To practice this transformative visualization meditation, sit cross legged or lie down on your back and deepen your breath. Lengthen your spine and let go of all tension and worries. Close your eyes and visualize a warm glowing light at the base of your spine. As you continue breathing with awareness, filling your lungs completely… Continue reading Kundalini Rising Chakra Visualization